top of page

A wild 170MB hard drive appears

As most of you know, I scored an IBM desktop all for a low cost and the loss of its hard drive. So I scoured the internet in hopes to find a new drive.

I began searching for something much bigger then what the unit originally came with. But all those searches came back with drives not much larger (500MB's) for around the $100 price point. Uhhh, how about, no.

So looking at the system, I noticed it originally came with a 170MB Conner brand drive. My goal with this unit is to restore, then upgrade. Lets get it up and running before I start thinking of invest into more parts.

My search, led me to eBay. First thing I find, is a 170MB Conner branded drive for $9. Much better then all the other searches in total. So I clicked the Buy it now.

170 MB Conner HDD

Among my eBay searching, I also bought a cheap pack of 3.5" Floppy disks, since the CD-Rom in the unit is not configured in the BIOS, so I can only use the floppy drives with boot up. And i'll need these to install DOS to at least gain access to that CD-Rom drive.

Yesterday, the drive arrived. YAY! That was super quick.

Just like the posting stated, a few of the pins were bent out of shape. With some needle nose pliers and some gentle persuasion, They moved all back into place.

I had to snag a short jumper of another drive, so I could set the Master setting on the drive. (First boot, with out the jumper and the IBM didn't even see it). Now the system see's the drive and the unit physically is set! (I just need to change the BIOS battery in the PC)

Now to wait on these disks. Ugh, waiting sucks.

bottom of page